Adventure – Ali Edwards

Again this month I was so excited and happy to create with Ali’s July Digital Kit. The color palette is one of my fave and the summer/travel themed is ideal for this time of the year. As well, this layout is a combination of digital elements, past story kits and other Ali kits, such as a past DD kit. I do love how I edited the picture in PSE, I find it adds a fun quirky design to my project.

MBlackburn_July2017DigitalKit_CloseUp3r

In PSE I selected the crop tool and changed the options to shape, from there the possibilities are endless. I really liked the fact of switching things up, typically we will see a quote or journaling in a speech bubble, I opted for the picture to which I added a digital brush from the July kit. I love how Ali’s kits inspire me to try something different, to approach a project with a different and perhaps more relaxed perspective. As Ali says, it’s about the stories and it’s doesn’t have to be perfect.

MBlackburn_July2017DigitalKit_CloseUp1r

For the background paper, I resized a journaling card from the July kit to 8×11. To do this I opened a blank canvas in PSE and dragged the journaling card on top, from there I stretched the edges to fit the background. Afterwards the journaling was added with PSE. Love how this turned out!

MBlackburn_July2017DigitalKit_CloseUp2r

I added accents and embellishments to my layout using past story kits, like the fun kit but also past kits, such as the washi from the DD mini kit.  The “awesome” tag is also an add on from the Fun Story kit.

MBlackburn_July2017DigitalKit_FullLayoutr

I hope you are inspired to documenting those everyday stories.

Author: ohpaperjoy

I've been part of the scrapbook industry for over 10 years. My love of paper started at a very young age when I started hoarding a collection of notepads and fruit scented pens. My love of scrapbooking and memory keeping evolved when I became a mother. Over the course of my creative career, I've had the pleasure of designing for various manufactures; I currently design for Ali Edwards and Gossamer Blue. My style is eclectic with a flair for mixing embellishments, creating layers and a love for white space. As of two years ago, I shifted her creative focus to documenting our family’s daily activities with Project Life.

Leave a Reply

