Getaway – Ali Edwards

Happy to be back today with another 8×11 layout. Ali’s July digital kit has definitely inspired me to create layouts, it feels great to be back to what I love doing. I might just stick to PLs and layouts from now on, I feel like I’ve dabbling in so many different type of memory keeping that I now I have stories all over the place. Anyway I regress, today I’m sharing another layout created for Ali Edwards using the July digital kit.

MBlackburn_July2017DigitalKit_GetCloseUp2

Again for this project the shape crop tool PSE inspired me to crop my picture to a circle. I love how it mimics the look at online profile pictures, like on IG. I added the “travel stories” digital brush (converted to white) from the July kit along with a wood veneer embellishment, simple.

MBlackburn_July2017DigitalKit_GetCloseUp1

As well, my projects for Ali really focus on storytelling, but I do carry this memory keeping style in my PL, I love words, I might not the most eloquent writer (maybe because I’m french and sometimes both languages mix in my head) but what I write is from the heart.

MBlackburn_July2017DigitalKit_GetFullLayout

At first this layout started as a 6×8, you can see the white base with the picture which is 6×8. But as I progressed in the design of my layout I realized that I just didn’t have enough space for embellishments (all of which are from past Ali kits). So I pulled out some kraft paper (be still my kraft loving heart) and let my creativity take over. I really enjoyed the process of creating this layout.

Author: ohpaperjoy

I've been part of the scrapbook industry for over 10 years. My love of paper started at a very young age when I started hoarding a collection of notepads and fruit scented pens. My love of scrapbooking and memory keeping evolved when I became a mother. Over the course of my creative career, I've had the pleasure of designing for various manufactures; I currently design for Ali Edwards and Gossamer Blue. My style is eclectic with a flair for mixing embellishments, creating layers and a love for white space. As of two years ago, I shifted her creative focus to documenting our family’s daily activities with Project Life.

Leave a Reply

